woman’s lost love

 

 

 

 

 

d4bd203c4406cb2cae1c9ab743cdde6d

 

 

 

 

 

“Lost!

 

 

 

 

 

Lost! Lost! O lost my love to me!

 

 

 

 

 

He passes by my house, nor turns his head,

 

 

 

 

 

I deck myself with care; he does not see.

 

 

 

 

 

He loves me not.

 

 

 

 

 

Would God that I were dead!

 

 

 

 

 

God! God! God! O Amun, great of might!

 

 

 

 

 

My sacrifice and prayers, are they in vain?

 

 

 

 

 

I offer to thee all that can delight,

 

 

 

 

 

Hear thou my cry and bring my love again.

 

 

 

 

 

Sweet, sweet, sweet as honey in my mouth,

 

 

 

 

 

His kisses on my lips, my breast, my hair;

 

 

 

 

 

But now my heart is as the sun-scorched South,

 

 

 

 

 

Where lie the fields deserted, grey and bare.

 

 

 

 

 

Come! Come! Come! And kiss me when I die,

 

 

 

 

 

For life, compelling life, is in thy breath;

 

 

 

 

 

And at that kiss, though in the tomb I lie,

 

 

 

 

 

I will arise and break the bands of Death.” 

 

 

 

 

 

~From Ancient Egyptian Love Poetry

 

 

 

 

 

[Image]